The first wooden pontoon (floating) bridge linked the Admiralty with Vasilievsky island at the Winter Palace in 1856, in 1896-97. he was moved to the site of the present bridge. Metal bridge with a swing span in the middle was built in 1912-16 and project engineers Pshenichnogo A. P. and R. F. Meltzer.
It is noteworthy that prior to 1978, some structural elements of the bridge were made of wood. In technical terms, the Palace bridge is the most difficult bridge on the Neva. Unique adjustable bridge mechanism, consisting of motors, big gear (including solid, preserved from the opening of the bridge) and tasaciones balances, capable of lifting up to 700-ton spans.
In 1997, the bridge received a modern night illumination.
During the festive events on the wings of divorced Palace bridge is projected films and paintings.